Yahoo Axis – Fails

There is so much wrong with Yahoo Axis. I heard about it in a Usenet discussion about Facebook possibly wanting to buy Opera, and someone had posted a link about Yahoo coming out with its own browser.

Well, even though Yahoo SAYS its a browser, it's not. It's a plug in for an existing browser, or an application for a mobile device. I downloaded for Firefox because Yahoo said it was not compatible with Opera – no loss there.

Let's talk about what's wrong with it – well, the name, for one thing. There are still a few of us who cringe when they even hear the word Axis. For those of you who are too young and were sleeping through World History, the Axis powers during World War II were Nazi Germany, Fascist Italy and Japan. I understand that maybe Yahoo wanted to call it Access, but Access is already taken by Microsoft. But couldn't they have chosen something else, like maybe Omni or something. Even Yahoo's name itself is bad – from Merriam Webster:

1 capitalized : a member of a race of brutes in Swift's Gulliver's Travels who have the form and all the vices of humans
2 [influenced by Yahoo] : a boorish, crass, or stupid person

All that aside, Axiz reminds me of Pinterest. Pinterest is great for what it is – a digital pin board. I love Pinterest because I can pin something I want to remember for another time, and I don't have to use up valuable Bookmark space (I have hundreds of bookmarks). Each pin usually comes with a description, so I know that's the thing I want. I'm a happy camper, and have recommended Pinterest to friends and family.

Axis search results are all visual, but there is no accompanying text, just a URL on mouseover. The URL might give you a clue that is the result you want, but for most people, it won't. If you are looking for the date of Memorial Day in 2013, you're presented with a picture of some guys with a hangover, some graves, vets, and flags – no date. Google on the other hand immediately comes up with the answer:

Memorial Day is on Monday, May 27, 2013.

So, no I don't think that Axis is going to do very well, well it might be good for yahoos.

9 thoughts on “Yahoo Axis – Fails

  1. Refurbished Copiers Los Angeles writes:Indeed a very nice post. I am also associated with digitronix1 company, Color Copiers Los Angeles, Ricoh Copiers Los Angeles,Used Copiers Los Angeles,,. Thanks for writing such good posts and as I have subscribed to your blog, I do expect that you will be posting nice posts like this on a regular basis.

  2. Canon Copiers Glendale CA writes:Indeed a very nice post. I am also associated with digitronix1 company, Office Equipment Glendale CA, Used Copiers Glendale CA,Copystar Copiers Glendale CA. Thanks for writing such good posts and as I have subscribed to your blog, I do expect that you will be posting nice posts like this on a regular basis.

  3. Refurbished Copiers Los Angeles writes:Indeed a very nice post. I am also associated with digitronix1 company, Office Equipment Glendale CA, Used Copiers Glendale CA,Copystar Copiers Glendale CA. Thanks for writing such good posts and as I have subscribed to your blog, I do expect that you will be posting nice posts like this on a regular basis.

  4. Ricoh Copiers Los Angeles writes:Indeed a very nice post. I am also associated with digitronix1 company, Office Equipment Glendale CA, Used Copiers Glendale CA,Copystar Copiers Glendale CA. Thanks for writing such good posts and as I have subscribed to your blog, I do expect that you will be posting nice posts like this on a regular basis.

  5. Office Equipment Glendale CA writes:Indeed a very nice post. I am also associated with digitronix1 company, Office Equipment Glendale CA, Used Copiers Glendale CA,Copystar Copiers Glendale CA. Thanks for writing such good posts and as I have subscribed to your blog, I do expect that you will be posting nice posts like this on a regular basis.

  6. Refurbished Copiers Los Angeles writes:Indeed a very nice post. I am also associated with digitronix1 company, Office Equipment Glendale CA, Used Copiers Glendale CA,Copystar Copiers Glendale CA. Thanks for writing such good posts and as I have subscribed to your blog, I do expect that you will be posting nice posts like this on a regular basis.

  7. Copystar Copiers Los Angeles writes:Indeed a very nice post. I am also associated with digitronix1 company, Office Equipment Glendale CA, Used Copiers Glendale CA,Copystar Copiers Glendale CA. Thanks for writing such good posts and as I have subscribed to your blog, I do expect that you will be posting nice posts like this on a regular basis.

  8. Canon Copiers Los Angeles writes:Indeed a very nice post. I am also associated with digitronix1 company, Office Equipment Glendale CA, Used Copiers Glendale CA,Copystar Copiers Glendale CA. Thanks for writing such good posts and as I have subscribed to your blog, I do expect that you will be posting nice posts like this on a regular basis.

  9. Copystar Copiers Los Angeles writes:Indeed a very nice post. I am also associated with digitronix1 company, Office Equipment Glendale CA, Used Copiers Glendale CA,Copystar Copiers Glendale CA. Thanks for writing such good posts and as I have subscribed to your blog, I do expect that you will be posting nice posts like this on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

