New Souls and Déjà vu

Déjà vu is the French term meaning "already seen". We have all had the experience of feeling that we have been in the same place, doing to same thing before – even if we know that we have never been in that place or situation before.

I've been doing some reading on the subject. I'm a very scientific person – there is always a logical, scientific explanation for these things. But, this one, I don't think so. There is something else going on.

I am also a practicing Roman Catholic, although from some of my posts, you might think otherwise, and this one may leave me even father afield than before.

You see, when I was in high school, I had a best friend, Alicia. A group of us decided to go to the movies in Westwood one night. I had been to Westwood many times to see movies, and to the specific theater recently.

There were six of us, walking down Wilshire, me in the rear. All of a sudden, I got that feeling of déjà vu. As I took in the all to familiar surroundings, I saw my friends walking in front of me.

My friend Alicia was in the middle of my friends, but there was something different about her. Even though I could see her, it was as if she were not there. Whatever past thing I was reliving, all the other people had been there, but not Alicia.

The only thing I could think of was that perhaps she was a new soul. It made sense that all my other friends had been around the block a few times, so to speak. It also made sense that if we are reincarnated, since there are more and more people, God must run out of souls and have to make new ones.

So, 35 years later, Alicia was in town and wanted to get together at her mother's house. This was truly amazing. The house was just the way I remembered it – everything, the sofa, the drapes, the pool, and all in perfect condition. I brought Spane with me and he was having a wonderful time playing in the shallow end of the pool.

At one point, Alicia was on the opposite side of the pool, and I looked up from talking to Spane, and again, another déjà vu. Everyone else at the get together was familiar, even Spane. There Alica stood, shining brightly as a new soul would.
I was amazed and gratified. This was confirmation that what I had seen all those years ago was true – Alicia still was not part of déjà vus.

Then, last week, I was working the Scholastic Book Fair at Spane's school, when a class room came in, and I had another déjà vu. There were twenty kids in that class, and about half of them were shining. Brand new souls, all shiny and bright, just as they should be.

You may ask yourself, what is she talking about shiny and bright? Well, the people who are not in the déjà vu seem to be just a little brighter in appearance, like they are glowing. They are really easy to spot.

One thing I find interesting about this whole thing is that Spane is also a pre-owned soul. He's always in my déjà vu's, so I know that I've been with him before. I don't know if I have always been his mother, but I hope so.

Leave a Reply

