Bad Advertising Affects Our Kids

This is the letter I am writing to the Glendale News Press. Whether they will print it or not, I have no idea, but I'm posting it anyway.

"As I walking up Brand Boulevard this evening, September 2, 2010 at about 6pm, I was aghast when I saw an advert on the side of the bus stop that said in huge letters "STILL A VIRGIN? NEED HELP? PLEASE CALL…" My son, Spane, 6 years old must have noticed my reaction, because he said "Mom, what's that? What does that say?"

I am not a prude, but I think this sends the wrong message, for a lot of reasons.

#1 – This is an R rated movie. If the city was filled with only 17 and over, fine, but it's not. According to the 2000 census there were 71,805 households out of which 32.9% had children under the age of 18 living with them. That's a lot of kids who would be seeing this message.

#2 – Teens are under so much pressure already about fashions, grades, sports, etc., they really don't need more pressure to have early sex. Even though the advertisement is for a movie, it still sends the message that being a virgin is wrong.

#3 – STD's and Pregnancy – Why should kids be encouraged to have unprotected sex, just because it's "cool" to not be a virgin.

This advertisement sends the wrong message to the youngsters of our community. I am surprised that this sign did not go through some sort of approval process. I am not advocating censorship, but the someone in this city should have the ability to approve or disapprove controversial advertisements.

Adrienne Boswell
Glendale"

Leave a Reply

